What are the main functions of federal and state government?

What are the main functions of federal and state government?

Federal Versus State Government

Federal Government State Governments
Make money Declare war Manage foreign relations Oversee trade between states and with other countries Ratify amendments Manage public health and safety Oversee trade in the state

What are the three levels of state government?

In India, there are three tiers of government: central government, state and local authorities (Municipal corporations and panchayats). These three levels of government are distributed to easily control the country’s administration.

What do federal state and local government have in common?

They each have three branches of government including the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Branches. State and local governments handle a lot of the systems that we use and come into contact with on a daily basis. These include schools, police departments, fire departments, libraries, parks, and more.

What services do the local state or federal government provide for us?

Federal, state, and local levels all have the power to tax. Of course, people expect state and local governments to provide services such as police protection, education, highway building and maintenance, welfare programs, and hospital and health care.

What services are provided by local governments?

Name the 8 major services provided by local governments.

  • Education.
  • Zoning regulations.
  • police/fire protection.
  • public utilities.
  • transportation.
  • social services.
  • recreation.
  • public maintenance.

Is a shared obligation of federal state and local governments?

Concurrent powers are powers that are shared between and among the federal, state and local governments. For example, both the federal and state governments have the power to tax while both the federal and state governments are obligated to provide public services, such as health and medical care.

How do the central and state government enjoy the power in federal system?

In Federal System, the Central and State governments enjoy their powers independent of the other and in a balanced manner. Both levels of government enjoy their powers on exclusive subjects. Some powers are shared by them, which are called concurrent powers.

Who sets the power of different level of government in federal system of government?

The U.S. Constitution allocates powers to the states and federal government, structures the relationship between these two levels of government, and guides state-to-state relationships. Federal, state, and local governments rely on different sources of revenue to enable them to fulfill their public responsibilities.

How are the powers of the state government different from the powers of the Union government?

The subjects on which the state government can make laws are maintaining law and order in the state, health, police, transport, land policies, etc. The powers of the union government are mentioned in the union list. The union as well as the state government can make laws on these subjects.

What is the procedure to make changes to power sharing arrangements between center and the state?

Any change to it has to be first passed by both the Houses of Parliament with at least two-thirds majority. Then it has to be ratified by the legislatures of at least half of the total States. In case of any dispute about the division of powers, the High Courts and the Supreme Court can make a decision.

Why is it very difficult to make changes to the power sharing?

(i) There is clear distinction of power between state and centre through three list system. (ii) In this arrangement constitution clearly lays down the division of powers between Union and State. So for any changes, it has to go through the amendment procedures which is difficult.

Why is it difficult to make changes between union and state government?

Any attempt on the part of the Union Government to encroach upon the powers and authority of the State Governments is resited by the states and vice versa. As a result, it is difficult to make changes to the power sharing arrangements between the Union and the State Governments.

What about subjects that do not fall in any of the three list?

Explanation: Subjects which are not present in any of the lists mentioned in the constitution are known as Residuary Subjects. Union Government has the powers to make laws on Residuary Subjects.

Who legislate on the subjects that do not fall in the third tier?

The Central government can legislate on subjects which are not listed under any of the three lists. It is known as the residuary list.

Which administrative authority has the power to legislate on subjects which do not fall in any of the three lists?

The power to make laws with respect to residuary subjects (i.e., the matters which are not enumerated in any of the three lists) is vested in the Parliament. This residuary power of legislation includes the power to levy residuary taxes.

Who has the power to legislate on such subject?

The residuary powers of legislation are vested in Parliament. Article 248 (2) of the Constitution of India says that the Parliament has exclusive power to make any law with respect to any matter not enumerated in list II and III.

What are the three list given in the Constitution?

The legislative section is divided into three lists: the Union List, State List and Concurrent List.

Which body have right to legislate on subject in the concurrent list?

The state legislative is the state’s law making body. it has exclusive power to make and pass laws on the 66 subjects mentioned in the State List. It also enjoys the right to frame laws on the 47 subjects of the Concurrent List.