What do I do if I get a speeding ticket in Hawaii?

What do I do if I get a speeding ticket in Hawaii?

If you wish to fight speeding tickets in Hawaii, you have to do so within 21 days of being given the ticket, failing which you will be declared “guilty” by default. To fight the charges, you need to submit a request for hearing or “not guilty” plea in writing to the relevant traffic court.

How much over the speed limit can you go in Hawaii?

In Hawaii, it is against the law to drive faster than 80 mph or to exceed the speed limit by 30 mph or higher. Even for a first offense, penalties for conviction are severe, and include: A criminal petty misdemeanor charge on your record. Automatic suspension of your license for 30 days.

How long do you have to pay a speeding ticket in Hawaii?

You must pay the total of the amounts stated on a citation within 21 days after receiving the citation. Please have your traffic or parking citation number; license plate number; and VISA or MasterCard ready before dialing this number.

Why is the speed limit so low in Hawaii?

Hawaii lacks the flat, wide open spaces that allow an Interstate to have a 65+ mile per hour speed limit. Our topography means that a lot of the numbered highways in Hawaii have lots of twists and turns. We were one of the last states to adjust their speed limits upward after the national 55 speed limit went away.

Where do you park for the district court in Honolulu?

District Court Parking Recommended parking for District Court (1111 Alakea St.) is either the South Street Garage at the corner of South and Pohukaina Streets, or the Makai Garage at the corner of Punchbowl and Halekauwila Streets. Parking is also available in the municipal lots.

What happens after you get a DUI in Hawaii?

The penalties for a first, second or third DUI offense can include: First DUI – up to five days in jail, $1,000 in fines & a one-year license suspension. Second DUI – up to 14 days in jail, $1,500 in fines & a one-year license suspension. Third DUI – up to 30 days in jail, $2,500 in fines & a five-year license …

Is a DUI a felony Hawaii?

A habitual DUI violation is a class C felony. The offender will face five years in prison, or five years of probation which includes a three-to-five-year license revocation, $2,000 to $5,000 in fines, at least ten days in jail and having to complete substance abuse counseling and a driver’s education program.

How much is bail for DUI in Hawaii?

Once booked into the cell block, most people will have the option to post bail for immediate release, but some people will need to sober up in jail. (This bail is generally $1000). Once bail has been posted, a court date is set that is typically 30 days from the date of arrest.

Can you refuse a breathalyzer in Hawaii?

Even if there is implied consent in Hawaii, you do have the right to refuse a blood or breath test, but at risk of a suspension to your license. If you caused injury to yourself or another person, you could be forced to take a test.