What were the consequences of the Spanish-American War?

What were the consequences of the Spanish-American War?

U.S. victory in the war produced a peace treaty that compelled the Spanish to relinquish claims on Cuba, and to cede sovereignty over Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines to the United States. The United States also annexed the independent state of Hawaii during the conflict.

Why was the treaty ending the Spanish-American War controversial?

Many objected to the extension of American domain overseas because they found the use of the military and economic power to conquer and control foreign peoples morally reprehensible. Under the terms of the treaty, the U.S. gained possession of Cuba, Puerto Rico, Guam, and for $20 million, the Philippines.

How bad was the Spanish-American War?

While the Spanish-American War lasted ten weeks and resulted in 400 battle deaths, the Philippine Insurrection lasted nearly three years and claimed 4000 American lives.

Which numbered territory did the United States gain by winning the Spanish-American War?

Although the United States promised it would not annex Cuba after victory, it did require Cuba to permit significant American intervention in Cuban affairs. As a result of the war, the United States acquired Puerto Rico, Guam, and the Philippines as territories.

Are there 50 or 52 states in the United States?

States of the U.S. There are fifty (50) states and Washington D.C.The last two states to join the Union were Alaska (49th) and Hawaii (50th). Both joined in 1959. Washington D.C. is a federal district under the authority of Congress.

Is Saipan a US territory?

Post-World War II. After the end of World War II, Saipan became part of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, administered by the United States. Since 1978, the island has been a municipality of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

What are the 13 US territories?

Of the thirteen territories, five are inhabited. These are either organized or self-governing but unincorporated. These are American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands….Current.

Territory Guam
Population 159,358
Area (km2) 541.3 km2
Area (sq mi) 209.0 sq mi
Region Pacific

What are the eight territories of the United States?

Learn more about U.S. territories

  • American Samoa.
  • Guam.
  • Northern Mariana Islands.
  • Puerto Rico.
  • U.S. Virgin Islands.

Is the Philippines a territory of the United States?

The Philippines is not a US territory any more; it got its independence after the second world war. Besides Guam, American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands and a handful of minor outlying islands, the US maintains roughly 800 overseas military bases around the world.

Is Haiti a US territory?

To its south-west lies the small island of Navassa Island, which is claimed by Haiti but is disputed as a United States territory under federal administration….Haiti.

Republic of Haiti République d’Haïti (French) Repiblik d Ayiti (Haitian Creole)
Demonym(s) Haitian
Government Unitary semi-presidential republic